You are here:NEWS/Sprint Car/4 FORMER CHAMPIONS
Sprint Car
Monday, 21 July 2008



Four former Indiana Sprint Week Champions will compete in this year’s Chevy Powers Indiana Sprint Week presented by Fatheadz which opens Wednesday night at Lawrenceburg Speedway. The eight-race series includes races at Lawrenceburg (July 9-10), Gas City (July 11-12), Kokomo (July 13), Boswell (July 17), Bloomington (July 18) and Haubstadt (July 19).

Three-time defending champion Dave Darland (1998, 2001 and 2007), two-time champ Cory Kruseman (2002 & 2005), Levi Jones (2004) and Jon Stanbrough (2006) are among early favorites for the 2008 title. Darland will try to join Kevin Thomas as the only four-time champs in the series’ 21-year history.

The four former champs account for 33 of the 108 race victories to date. Kruseman leads all-time with 12 wins, while Darland and Stanbrough are close behind with 10 each and Jones has one.

Tony Stewart Racing, with drivers Jones and Hines set for Chevy Powers Indiana Sprint Week, is aiming for an unprecedented “Triple Crown” in 2008. No team has ever won all three USAC National Championships in the same season but the Stewart team is atop all three standings at mid-season.

Darland will compete in the 2B Racing entry, while Kruseman is bringing his entire three-car team from California and Stanbrough returns in the Fox Brothers Racing entry after winning six of the last 11 ISW features.

Wednesday night’s event serves as the USAC debut for the newly-refurbished Lawrenceburg track, which has been lengthened and sports new concrete walls and fencing, higher banking and new corner grandstands.

Thursday night’s race at Lawrenceburg is the traditional “Robbie Stanley Classic” honoring the three-time USAC National Sprint Car Champion who lost his fife in a 1994 accident.