You are here:NEWS/Sprint Car/SPRINTS EYE "4-CROWN NATIONALS" SEPT. 24-25
Sprint Car
Sunday, 12 September 2010




The “4-Crown Nationals” at the Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio is next up for the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series September 24-25 and Levi Jones of Olney, Ill. is continuing his pursuit of a record-tying fourth series championship.


Jones finished second and eighth in last weekend’s races in Indiana and will take an 88-point lead over Bryan Clauson into the two-night Eldora program.


Jon Stanbrough of Avon, Ind. was the last of five feature leaders Friday night as he won the 30-lap “Billy Marvel Classic” AMSOIL USAC National Sprint race at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind. in his Jarvis Enterprises/Peterbuilt of Northwest Ohio DRC/Foxco. Stanbrough moved to the front on lap 29 when Casey Shuman retired from the race after leading a single lap. Jones finished second ahead of Clauson, Tracy Hines and Shane Hollingsworth. Dave Darland led the first four laps but dropped out a lap later. Clauson then led 15 laps and Jones led eight before the late-race dramatics.


Stanbrough came right back to win Saturday night’s 30-lap “Jim Hurtubise Classic” at the Terre Haute Action Track after a race-long duel with Darland that had fans on their feet most of the night. Darland took the lead from Henry Clarke on lap 10 and led for 16 laps until lap 26 when Stanbrough made the winning pass in turn two. Trailing Stanbrough at the checkered flag were Darland, Hunter Schuerenberg, Clauson and fast qualifier Robert Ballou.