AMSOIL Sprints
Friday, 12 February 2021


#4 Justin Grant & #9K Kevin Thomas Jr. battle at Bubba Raceway Park. #4 Justin Grant & #9K Kevin Thomas Jr. battle at Bubba Raceway Park. Dave Olson Photo


Ocala, Florida (February 12, 2021)………Kevin Thomas Jr., by virtue of his victory in Thursday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season opener, leads the overall Winter Dirt Games XII point standings entering the Friday night, Feb. 12 event at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla.

Throughout the Sprint Car portion of Winter Dirt Games XII, drivers are accumulating points each time they are on track, in qualifying, preliminary events and feature races.  The points from Thursday’s and Friday’s events will be totaled and will set the lineups for the Saturday night finale on Feb. 13, which will pay $10,000-to-win for the 35-lap feature.

Thomas (Cullman, Ala.) earned a total of 358 points on Thursday night, besting Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.) with 347, Kyle Cummins (Princeton, Ind.) with 346, Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Okla.) with 334 and Tyler Courtney (Indianapolis, Ind.) with 333.

The points breakdown for qualifying starts at 100, then decreases by one point for the balance of the field based on each driver’s overall standing on their qualifying time, regardless of which flight the driver competed in.

The heat race winner receives 60 points, which then decreases by four for each position thereafter through the balance of the field.

The first C-Main non-transfer receives 60 points with each position thereafter decreasing by two points.

The first semi-feature transfer receives 90 points with each position thereafter decreasing by two points.

In the feature, the winning driver gets 200 points, with the points awarded decreasing by five throughout the top-five, then decreasing by four from positions six through 10.  For the 11th position through the balance of the field, points will decrease by three from position to position.  It should be noted that provisional starters forfeit their feature points.

The top-five in total, combined points from Thursday’s and Friday’s events will be locked into Saturday night’s feature event.

Saturday night’s program will have no qualifying, and will instead consist of three qualifying races, each 10 laps in length, lined up “straight-up” based on points from the first two nights.  The lineup will snake with 6th overall in points on the pole of the first qualifying race, 7th in points on the pole for the second qualifying race and 8th in points on the pole for the third qualifying race, and so on.

The top-four finishers from each qualifying race will transfer to the feature.  Those finishing 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th or 9th in each qualifying race will be placed into the semi-feature.  Those finishing 10th on back in each qualifying race will be placed into a 10-lap C-Main, if needed, where the top-3 finishers will transfer to the semi-feature and occupy the final three starting positions of that race.

The winning drivers of each qualifying race will transfer into a dash with the top-5 locked in drivers.  Starting positions for the dash will be drawn for with the qualifying race winners selecting first when they stop for their winner’s interview, followed by the lock-ins.  Positions 1 and 2 on the front row for the feature will only be available in the draw to the five drivers previously locked in.  The finish of the 8-car, 4-lap dash will determine the first 4 rows of the feature.

The top-5 finishers from the 12-lap semi-feature will transfer into the night’s feature, filling the final five positions in the feature starting lineup.

The feature will consist of 22 cars (not counting up to two provisionals) and 35 laps, as determined by the finishing order of the dash – 1st place finisher starts 1st, 2nd place finisher starts 2nd and so on.

However, if Thursday’s or Friday’s events are canceled, Saturday night’s event will retain the standard format.

On race days, pits open at 4pm ET, front gates open at 5pm and cars on track at 6pm with qualifying and racing immediately following.

Race day tickets will be available at the gate on race day.  No pre-order is necessary.

For practice nights, on track action runs from 6-9pm ET. Grandstand admission is free. Pit passes are $20 apiece.

All nights of Winter Dirt Games XII can be watched LIVE on FloRacing.



(After Night 1 of 3)

1. 358-Kevin Thomas Jr.

2. 347-Justin Grant

3. 346-Kyle Cummins

4. 334-Brady Bacon

5. 333-Tyler Courtney

6. 327-Tanner Thorson

7. 312-Timmy Buckwalter

8. 309-C.J. Leary

9. 308-Chris Windom

10. 296-Jake Swanson

11. 287-Buddy Kofoid

12. 281-Dave Darland

13. 281-Robert Ballou

14. 281-Noah Gass

15. 279-Jadon Rogers

16. 275-Stevie Sussex

17. 271-Mario Clouser

18. 269-Chase Stockon

19. 252-Briggs Danner

20. 250-Paul Nienhiser

21. 245-Kory Schudy

22. 240-Carson Garrett

23. 218-Matt Westfall

24. 213-Sterling Cling

25. 204-Max Adams

26. 204-Cole Bodine

27. 194-Chase Johnson

28. 189-Brandon Mattox

29. 189-Brent Beauchamp

30. 188-Davey Ray

31. 174-Riley Kreisel

32. 174-Dustin Clark

33. 170-Chayse Hayhurst

34. 159-Shane Butler

35. 153-Drew Rader

36. 147-Kade Morton

37. 146-Matt Goodnight

38. 143-Cam Schafer

39. 139-Dickie Gaines

40. 138-Ryan Thomas

41. 133-Blake Vermillion

42. 128-Craig Pellegrini

43. 126-Scott Evans

44. 119-Jesse Vermillion

45. 56-Robert Bell