You are here:NEWS/Silver Crown/TYLER WINS THE "TED HORN 100"
Silver Crown
Sunday, 31 August 2008


Tyler wins the "Ted Horn 100"

Brian Tyler of Parma, Mich. earned his second straight 100-mile USAC K & N Silver Crown Championship race victory Sunday night in the “Ted Horn 100” at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds. Tyler trailed defending race winner Shane Cottle for the first 75 laps, then led the final 25 laps in his Toyota/Fatheadz Sunglasses Beast/Toyota.

Dave Darland finished second in a spirited run from the back of the pack after a lap-74 restart. He was running fourth but pitted for a tire and rejoined the race. In the final 26 laps he passed everyone but Tyler, whom he challenged for the victory on a final lap restart after series point leader Jerry Coons Jr. spun in turn two.

Cottle won the pole and ended up third ahead of Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Mat Neely.

Coons takes a 23-point lead over Darland into the September 20 “4-Crown Nationals” at Rossburg, Ohio.

Series veteran Johnny Parsons lasted only seven laps in his final start. He announced his retirement from the sport as a driver at the end of the race.