National Dirt
Friday, 12 November 2021


Thomas Meseraull is one of six double-duty drivers in this weekend's Western World Championships. Thomas Meseraull is one of six double-duty drivers in this weekend's Western World Championships. Lee Greenawalt


By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

San Tan Valley, Arizona………(November 12, 2021)………It’s one thing to win one USAC National feature in a single day, or even two, which has been achieved on an occasional basis throughout history.  But winning in two (or even three) different USAC series on the same day?  That’s reserved for a special breed.

The opportunity presents itself once again twice this weekend in the 54th annual Western World Championships Presented by San Tan Ford at Arizona Speedway, a two-night racing extravaganza featuring both USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars and USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets on the same event card for two consecutive nights on Friday, November 12 and Saturday, November 13.

At least six drivers plan on taking on the double-duty task this weekend at Western World, including Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, Calif.), Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.), Logan Seavey (Sutter, Calif.), Kevin Thomas Jr. (Cullman, Ala.), Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) and Tanner Thorson (Minden, Nev.).

It is worth mentioning that three different drivers have scored three USAC National feature wins in a single day.  The first such occurrence came via Pancho Carter on a rare afternoon that featured twin 50-lap A-Mains for both sprints and midgets.  On the same day!  Pancho notched both midget features, scored the first sprint feature win, and finished 2nd to Tom Bigelow in the final sprint feature.  It was the first time that any driver had won USAC Sprint and Midget features in the same day.

Jack Hewitt replicated the feat, and even one-upped Pancho, in 1998 at Eldora’s 4-Crown Nationals.  Hewitt’s topsy-turvy season included a change away from his longtime rides in the Bob Hampshire No. 63, then was followed by his long-awaited debut at the Indianapolis 500-mile race in May, then took another turn the opposite way when he was injured in a July Sprint race at IRP.

Entering the 4-Crown, Hewitt had gone all year without a win to that point, but that all changed in one Cinderella story night, as he knocked off feature wins in USAC Midgets, Sprints and even in the UMP Modified!  With the crowd buzzing and murmurs of if he could really do it, Hewitt dominated the Silver Crown finale to go 4-for-4 on the night, a feat in totality that has seen no equal since.

However, Kyle Larson came the closest, going 3-for-3 in the revamped 2011 edition of the 4-Crown Nationals, reigning victorious in the USAC Midget, Sprint and Silver Crown races.  An impressive feat by anybody was nonetheless eclipsed by the fact that the weekend marked Larson’s first ever visit to Eldora.  Modifieds were not on the docket that night, but in retrospect, odds are that if they were, Larson more than likely would’ve been a contender in that too.  Just a hunch.

As for those drivers who’ve won in both USAC National Sprints and National Midgets on the same day at the same track, there have been 25 such cases at press time.  Hewitt, Dave Steele and J.J. Yeley are the only individuals to do it three times.  Jeff Gordon and Tyler Courtney have each done so twice.

Twelve more drivers have won in both USAC divisions on the same day just once in their career, including Pancho, Ron Shuman, Ken Schrader, Rich Vogler, Tony Stewart, Doug Kalitta, Dave Darland, Jay Drake, Jerry Coons Jr., Bryan Clauson, Tracy Hines and Kyle Larson.

One thing in common with all 17 drivers who’ve done it are that they are either USAC National champions, Hall of Famers, or in the case of Larson, a future Hall of Famer.  There aren’t any slouches who magically rise up for one night and get it done like this.  An achievement of this caliber is the epitome of their full body of excellence, framed within one, two or even three very special nights at the racetrack.

On Friday, pits open at 1:30pm Mountain time, grandstands at 3pm, drivers meeting at 4:30pm and cars on track at 5:10pm.  On Saturday, pits open at 1:30pm Mountain time, grandstands at 3pm, autograph session from 4-4:35pm drivers meeting at 4:45pm and cars on track at 5:10pm.

General admission adult tickets are $30, while kids 11 and under are just $10.  Pit passes are $40 for adults and $15 for ages 7-12 and free for ages 6 and under.  Western World tickets are on sale now at

An open practice for sprint cars and midgets will take place on Thursday night, November 11 from 6:30-9:30pm Mountain.  Pits open at Noon with a racer and pit crew appreciation BBQ in the pit area featuring free food and drinks set for 5-6pm.

On practice night, adult pit passes are $30, kids 7-12 pit passes are $15 and kids 6 and under pit passes are $15.

Both nights of racing at the Western World Championships can be watched LIVE on FloRacing at



(As of 11/11/2021)

5/30/1977: Pancho Carter – Salem Speedway / Salem, IN

7/4/1978: Ron Shuman – Reading Fairgrounds – Reading, PA

7/31/1982: Ken Schrader – Beaver Dam Raceway – Beaver Dam, WI

9/28/1986: Rich Vogler – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

6/17/1990: Jeff Gordon – Salem Speedway – Salem, IN

11/4/1990: Jeff Gordon – Winchester Speedway – Winchester, IN

8/31/1991: Jack Hewitt – Tri-City Speedway – Granite City, IL

9/23/1995: Tony Stewart – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

10/22/1995: Doug Kalitta – Winchester Speedway – Winchester, IN

10/4/1997: Jack Hewitt – Terre Haute Action Track – Terre Haute, IN

9/26/1998: Jack Hewitt – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

9/25/1999: Dave Darland – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

6/22/2001: Jay Drake – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

5/3/2002: J.J. Yeley – Hawkeye Downs Speedway – Cedar Rapids, IA

6/20/2002: J.J. Yeley – Fremont Speedway – Fremont, OH

8/23/2003: Dave Steele – Nazareth Speedway – Nazareth, PA

7/4/2004: Dave Steele – Pikes Peak International Raceway – Fountain, CO

7/24/2004: J.J. Yeley – Milwaukee Mile (Midget) & Terre Haute Action Track (Sprint)

8/14/2004: Dave Steele – Salem Speedway – Salem, IN

6/9/2006: Jerry Coons Jr. – Lake Ozark Speedway – Eldon, MO

8/12/2006: Bryan Clauson – Salem Speedway – Salem, IN

9/23/2006: Tracy Hines – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

9/24/2011: Kyle Larson – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

9/22/2018: Tyler Courtney – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH

9/28/2019: Tyler Courtney – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH