You are here:NEWS/25/USAC .25 Drivers Kick-off Hall of Fame Weekend by Honoring Robbie Stanley
Monday, 14 May 2012

USAC .25 Drivers Kick-off Hall of Fame Weekend by Honoring Robbie Stanley

USAC Mopar .25 Midget Series drivers will be part of history this weekend, as they take to the track at the Mini Indy Speedway in Indianapolis, Ind., to honor three-time USAC National Sprint Car Series Champion Robbie Stanley, as well as to help kick-off the Inaugural USAC Hall of Fame Weekend.

Stanley, who was inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 2000, won his first National Championship in a Quarter Midget in 1980, at Waterford Speedway, in Michigan. He quickly rose to prominence by winning his first Sprint Car race at the legendary Winchester Speedway in Indiana. He won the All Star Circuit of Champions title in 1989. Stanley's USAC National Sprint Car Series championships came in 1991, 1992, and 1993. Since 1996, Mini Indy, located on the grounds of the Indiana State Fairgrounds, has hosted the Robbie Stanley Memorial for Quarter Midget drivers.

Veteran open wheel driver, Ed Carpenter, who earned his first INDYCar victory in 2011 at Kentucky Speedway, won the first Robbie Stanley Memorial in 1996. USAC drivers that have also hoisted the coveted Robbie Stanley Title include: Shane Hollingsworth (1997), Billy Wease (1998), Tyler Nuckles (2003), Andy Nock (2004), and Canadian Cayden Lapcevich (2011).

"It's very special, after all of these years, to keep our son Robbie's memory alive," said Rita Stanley. "We are amazed that people are so willing to remember him and his accomplishments. It's truly an honor that we feel each and every time the Mini Indy Club holds the Robbie Stanley Memorial. We have met so many families and have celebrated the wins honoring our son. These winning drivers have become part of our racing family."

The Heavy ΜΆ