Midwest Dirt
Sunday, 14 July 2019


Winner Alex Watson (Columbus, Ohio) Winner Alex Watson (Columbus, Ohio) Bill Miller Photo


Montpelier, Indiana (July 13, 2019)………Past USAC champion Alex Watson used a last lap pass to get by two-time and defending series champ Aaron Leffel and win Saturday’s USAC Midwest Thunder Speed2 Midget feature at Indiana’s Montpelier Motor Speedway.

Columbus, Ohio’s Watson, the 2015 USAC Midwest HPD Midget champ, earned his first series win of the year by leading one lap, but it was most important one of all.  Adam Taylor (Dwight, Ill.) led the first six laps before falling back to 12th at the checkered.  Leffel (Springfield, Ohio) assumed the lead on the seventh circuit, leading a race-high 13 laps until Watson got by on the 20th and final lap.

Leffel took second ahead of Stratton Briggs (Anna, Ohio), Gunnar Lucius (Delphos, Ohio) and Ohio’s Jacob Denney who rounded out the top-five at the checkered.


USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET RACE RESULTS: – July 13, 2019 – Montpelier, Indiana – Montpelier Motor Speedway

FEATURE: (20 laps) 1. Alex Watson (#3 Watson), 2. Aaron Leffel (#11L Taylor), 3. Stratton Briggs (#71 Briggs), 4. Gunnar Lucius (#22 Lucius), 5. Jacob Denney (#11T Taylor), 6. Jon Steed (#7 Steed), 7. Cory Guingrich (#62 Guingrich), 8. Adam Schmenk (#6 Schmenck), 9. Ian Creager (#36 Creager), 10. Nate Foster (#57F Foster), 11. Kyle Kriegbaum (#12 Kriegbaum), 12. Adam Taylor (#7A Taylor), 13. Zane Briggs (#10 Briggs), 14. Don Bigelow (#4B Bigelow), 15. Bryce Dues (#23B Dues), 16. Tim Key (#6K Key), 17. Tom Hessel (#7T Hessel), 18. Tommy Bigelow (#2B Bigelow), 19. Mark Neift Jr. (#20N Neift). NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-6 Adam Taylor, Laps 7-19, Aaron Leffel, Lap 20, Alex Watson.

NEW USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET POINTS: 1-Aaron Leffel-338, 2-Stratton Briggs-292, 3-Alex Watson-265, 4-Cory Guingrich-261, 5-Gunnar Lucius-260, 6-Ian Creager-233, 7-Jacob Denney-220, 8-Kyle Kriegbaum-217, 9-Zane Briggs-198, 10-Tommy Bigelow-168.

NEXT USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET RACE: July 20 – Montpelier Motor Speedway – Montpelier, Indiana