Tuesday, 14 July 2020


#7T Adam Taylor (Dwight, Ill.), a recent USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midget feature winner. #7T Adam Taylor (Dwight, Ill.), a recent USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midget feature winner. Bill Miller Photo




USAC Western States Midgets make their return to action on Saturday night, July 18, at California’s Petaluma Speedway.

The co-sanctioned event with the Bay Cities Racing Association (BCRA) Midgets will be a non-point race for the USAC Western States Midgets and pay $600-to-win and $100 to start.

No fans are permitted due to local regulations regarding COVID-19.  California state protocol calls for safe distancing practices to take place and proper sanitizing for those who are on the grounds for the event.

To limit person-to-person contact or money exchange during the night, all competitors intending to compete in the event should visit www.USACracing.com and purchase their USAC license prior to the event.

The full night of racing at Petaluma will be streamed live and on-demand, exclusively on FloRacing.

Petaluma Speedway has hosted nine previous USAC Western States Midget events dating to Shane Golobic’s 2012 victory.  Maria Cofer of Macdoel, Calif. captured the victory in the most recent series event at Petaluma in 2019, her first with the series.



The USAC Midwest Wingless Racing Association Sprint Cars heat to its sixth round of the 2020 season Saturday night at I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo.  The series opened at I-35 on June 13 with Kory Schudy (Springfield, Mo.) taking the checkered flag.

Schudy is second in the standings behind two-time series winner Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Kans.), who had most unsavory finish of the year that night, a 14th.

Hobby Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Dirt Late Models, Sport Compact, USRA B-Mods, USRA Modifieds and USRA Stock Cars are also on the event card.

USAC MIDWEST WINGLESS RACING ASSOCIATION SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Wyatt Burks-895, 2-Kory Schudy-870, 3-Don Droud Jr.-845, 4-Wesley Smith-830, 5-Chris Parkinson-805, 6-Zach Clark-650, 7-Brian Beebe-590, 8-Kyle Lewis-580, 9-Mark Lane-510, 10-Braydon Cromwell-505.



USAC Wingless Sprints Oklahoma gears up for round four of the 2020 season and its first on-track action in a month.  For the first in series history, it’s on to the Salina Highbanks Speedway in Salina, Okla. this Saturday night, July 18.

Three different drivers have reached victory lane in the first three outings: Noah Gass (Mounds, Okla.), Brett Wilson (Coweta, Okla.) and Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Kans.).  However, it’s Ty Hulsey (Owasso, Okla.) who leads the points by 12 over two-time and defending champion Brett Wilson coming in.

Gates open at 5pm CT, with the drivers meeting set for 6pm, hot laps at 6:30pm and racing at 7pm.  Pit passes are $30 each.

OCRS Sprint Cars, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories B-Mods, Dawson Roofing Super Stocks and S & J Plumbing Pure Stocks are also in action.

NEW USAC WINGLESS SPRINTS OKLAHOMA POINTS: 1-Ty Hulsey-382, 2-Brett Wilson-370, 3-Waylon Weaver-367, 4-J.C. Wilson-320, 5-Harlan Hulsey-252, 6-Cameron Hagin-238, 7-Alison Slaton-235, 8-Emilee Lowry-223, 9-Craig Carroll-219, 10-David Baxter-193.



The debut for the Radical Focus SpeeD2 Midgets brings the series to the pavement of Lakeport Speedway in Lakeport, Calif.  The first ever series action begins with practice on Friday night, July 17.

Racing action begins Saturday night, July 18 with Bombers, Bandoleros, Legend Cars and Pro-4 Modifieds also ready to compete.



U.S. 24 Speedway in Logansport welcomes the USAC SpeeD2 Midwest Thunder Midgets for the first time this Saturday night, July 18. 

The SpeeD2 only race at US 24 Speedway is the fourth points race of the season.  Aaron Leffel (Springfield, Ohio), Jacob Denney (Gallagher, Ohio) and Adam Taylor (Dwight, Ill.) have taken each of the first three victories.  Denney leads Taylor by 20 points in the standings coming in.

Pits open at 4pm ET with the front gate opening at 5pm.  The drivers’ draw closes at 6pm while the drivers meeting begins at 7pm with qualifying and racing to follow.

General admission tickets are $10 for adults and free for children 12 and under.  Pit passes are $25 apiece.  All automotive and motorcycle-powered midgets meeting USAC SpeeD2 rules are eligible to participate.  USAC members are eligible for $25 heat race winner bonuses and $25 hard charger bonuses.  Mod Lites and Micros join in for the event as well.

USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET POINTS: 1-Jacob Denney-198, 2-Adam Taylor-178, 3-Stratton Briggs-156, 4-Abby Hohlbein-153, 5-Gunnar Lucius-142, 6-Zack Gingerich-141, 7-Zane Briggs-133, 8-Cory Guingrich-131, 9-Tommy Kouns-112, 10-Kyle Dager-103.



Next on the docket for the USAC DMA SpeeD2 Midgets is this Saturday night, July 18 at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, Vermont.

Defending series champion Will Hull (Plainfield, Vt.) started last in the field of 13 in the most recent race run on June 27, then proceeded to drive by everyone at Bear Ridge prior to the halfway point of the 25-lap feature to win the season opener.

Despite that, Hull enters this Saturday’s event third in points after not accumulating any points during heat race action.  Justin Phillips (West Suffield, Conn.) and Seth Carlson (Stafford, Conn.), who finished 2nd and 3rd in the feature, respectively, run one-two in the standings coming in.

Pits open at 3pm ET and pits/gates at 4pm, drivers meeting at 5:45pm with racing slated for a 6pm start.  Also in action are the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, C.A. Miller Limited Late Models, LaValley’s Dirt Stockers and Peanut’s Auto LLC Four Cylinders.

Adult general admission is $12, seniors 62+ are $10 and kids 11 and under are $2.  Pit passes are $25 each for members and $30 for non-members.

USAC DIRT MIDGET ASSOCIATION POINTS: 1-Justin Phillips-75, 2-Seth Carlson-71, 3-Will Hull-70, 4-Floyd Billington-66, 5-Manny Dias-64, 6-Jeff Champagne-59, 7-Brandon Piastka-59, 8-Justin Sheridan-52, 9-Wayne Koehler-49, 10-Tim West-49.