Thursday, 9 July 2020


Tommy Kouns (#98), a regular with the USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midgets, battles Justin Dickerson (#21D). Tommy Kouns (#98), a regular with the USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midgets, battles Justin Dickerson (#21D). Neil Cavanah Photo




The USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midgets make their return to Indiana’s Gas City I-69 Speedway for the second time in 2020 this Friday night, July 10.

Aaron Leffel (Springfield, Ohio) won the series’ most recent visit to Gas City on June 19, leading the final five laps to score the victory.

More recently, it was Leffel’s Taylor Racing teammate Jacob Denney (Galloway, Ohio) getting the best of the field with a victory on July 4 at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind.  He led the last 15 laps of the 20-lap feature and leads the standings by 18 markers entering Friday’s race.

Grandstands open at 5pm ET, with hot laps scheduled for 6:30pm and racing at 7:30pm. Street Stocks, Hornets, DIRTcar and UMP Modifieds are also in action.  Tickets are available at the gate - adult general admission is $15 while children age 12 and under are free.  Pit passes are $30 apiece.

USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET POINTS: 1-Jacob Denney-134, 2-Abby Hohlbein-116, 3-Adam Taylor-108, 4-Cory Guingrich-104, 5-Zack Gingerich-98, 6-Jon Steed-97, 7-Stratton Briggs-95, 8-Mark Nieft Jr.-95, 9-Gunnar Lucius-87, 10-Tommy Kouns-87.



USAC DMA SpeeD2 Midgets launch a three-races in three-week stretch of consecutive Saturday night races at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, Vermont starting this Saturday night, July 11.

Defending series champion Will Hull (Plainfield, Vt.) started last in the field of 13 on June 27, then proceeded to drive by everyone at Bear Ridge prior to the halfway point of the 25-lap feature to win the season opener.

Despite that, Hull enters this Saturday’s event third in points after not accumulating any points during heat race action.  Justin Phillips (West Suffield, Conn.) and Seth Carlson (Stafford, Conn.), who finished 2nd and 3rd in the feature, respectively, run one-two in the standings coming in.

Pits open at 3pm ET and front gates at 4pm with racing slated for a 6pm start.  Also in action are the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman Coupes, C.A. Miller Limited Late Models, LaValley’s Dirt Stockers, Peanut’s Auto LLC Four Cylinders and Granite State Mini Sprints.

Adult general admission is $12, seniors 62+ are $10 and kids 11 and under are $2.  Pit passes are $25 each for members and $30 for non-members.

USAC DIRT MIDGET ASSOCIATION POINTS: 1-Justin Phillips-75, 2-Seth Carlson-71, 3-Will Hull-70, 4-Floyd Billington-66, 5-Manny Dias-64, 6-Jeff Champagne-59, 7-Brandon Piastka-59, 8-Justin Sheridan-52, 9-Wayne Koehler-49, 10-Tim West-49.



USAC IMRA SpeeD2 Midget action resumes at its home base of Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill. this Saturday night, July 11, for the second occasion this season.

Cody Gerdes (Eureka, Ill.) pulled off his first career series triumph with the series in the most recent visit to the 3/8-mile dirt oval on June 20, where he led the final nine laps en route to victory lane.

Two-time and defending champion Andy Baugh (Mason City, Ill.) leads the standings coming in and won the season’s point-race opener on May 23 at Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa.

Pits open at 4pm CT, grandstands at 5pm and hot laps at 6pm with racing to follow.  The DirtCar Pro Late Models, DirtCar Modifieds, E/BMods and DirtCar Hornets are also all in action.  General admission tickets are $15 kids 10 and under are free.  Adult pit passes are $30 while kids 10 and under are $20 in the pits.  Rain out arm bands and ticket stubs from the June 27 event will be honored.

NEW USAC ENGLER IMRA SPEED2 MIDGET POINTS: 1-Andy Baugh-129, 2-Scott Koerner-127, 3-Kevin Battefeld-124, 4-Will Armitage-123, 5-Mark McMahill-123, 6-John Heitzman-112, 7-Bryan Stanfill-95, 8-Chris Adrien-83, 9-Brent Burrows-81, 10-Cody Gerdes-77.



The quarter-mile paved highbanks of Indiana’s Anderson Speedway are the host for this Saturday’s July 11 USAC Eastern SpeeD2 Midget non-points special event, the 4th annual Glen Niebel Classic, a co-sanctioned event with the Day Transportation Kenyon Midgets which culminates in a 75-lap shootout.

Jessica Bean (Farmland, Ind.) and Chris Lamb (Colfax, N.C.) have taken victories in the first two rounds of the 2020 USAC Eastern season at Orange County Speedway in Rougemont, N.C. and Florence Motor Speedway Timmonsville, S.C., respectively.

Bean leads the standings by three points over Lamb as she seeks to earn an unprecedented fourth consecutive title with the series.

Pits open at 3:30pm ET with practice and the front gates opening at 5pm.  Qualifying begins at 6:30pm with racing scheduled for 8pm.  A 125-lap Non-Wing Sprint Car race will headline the show along with the McGunegill Engine Late Models and Thunder Roadsters (30 laps).  Tickets will be sold at the gate only.  Adults are $15, children age 6-12 are $5 and kids age 5 and under free.

USAC EASTERN SPEED2 MIDGET POINTS: 1-Jessica Bean-149, 2-Chris Lamb-146, 3-Hunter Wise-133, 4-Bradley Swift-66, 5-Daytona Spicola-62, 6-Sam Mazzo-62, 7-Scott Hunter-60, 8-John Inman-58, 9-Mason Hoskins-56, 10-Mike Ward-52.