Monday, 31 May 2010



USAC Ford Focus action resumes in Indiana, Utah and California this week. The Midwest Focuses and Young Guns are racing at the Indianapolis Speedrome Wednesday night, while the Western and Utah Focuses are at Rocky Mountain Raceways in Salt lake City, Utah Saturday. Santa Maria (Calif.) Speedway also hosts a Western Focus/Young Guns event Saturday night. Wednesday’s events at the Indianapolis Speedromw are part of the track’s “Tom Bigelow Night” salute to the former USAC driving champion.


Five drivers scored USAC Ford Focus feature victories last week in events in North Carolina, California and Indiana.


Scott Hunter of Concord, N.C. won Saturday night’s 35-lap Eastern/Carolina Ford Focus feature at Hickory Motor Speedway. He passed Tyler Corriher on lap 15 and led the rest of the way in his Brown & Miller Racing Solutions/Joe Gibbs Racing Oil Ascot. Cody Acton, Corriher, Justin Hommel and Nike Drake rounded out the “top-five” at the finish.


Joe Liguori of Tampa, Fla. and Cooper Clouse of Ohio City, Ohio scored feature victories in USAC Ford Focus competition Wednesday night at the Indianapolis Speedrome on “John Andretti Night. Liguori trailed Kyle Hamilton for 34 laps until Hamilton spun on the backstretch, then led the final six laps in his Pit Stop BBQ/C & R Racing Beast. Adam Wilsdon finished second in the 40-lapper, followed by Tate Martz, Jake Blackhurst and Michael May. In the accompanying 25-lap Young Guns feature, Clouse led all 25 laps in his Peterbilt of Northwest Ohio Hawk. Ross Rankine, Gage Walker, Stevie Kuhn and Derrick Morris rounded out the “top-five.”


Nick Carlson of Norwalk, Calif. and Jarid Blondel of Orange, Calif. took different routes to USAC Ford Focus feature wins at Perris Auto Speedway Saturday night. Carlson led all 20 laps of the Western Ford Focus race to beat Kyle Edwards, Jet Davison, Zach Stout and Wally Pankratz. Blondel virtually grabbed the checkered flag right out of Alex Jacobsen’s hands in the 20-lap Young Guns feature, passing Jacobsen on the final lap! Casey Martinez took third ahead of Bradley Morris and Daniel Williams.