Sunday, 4 July 2010




Jake Blackhurst of Mapleton, Ill. returns to the Indianapolis Speedrome Wednesday night for “Mack McClellan Night” as the Midwest Ford Focus point leader after winning last Wednesday night’s “Ted Hines Night” feature at the 1/5-mile paved oval. Cooper Clouse will lead the Young Guns into Wednesday’s program, while the Midwest Ford Focuses are also gearing up for Saturday’s event in conjunction with “Indiana Sprint Week” at the Gas City I-69 Speedway.


Blackhurst and Austin Prock of Avon, Ind. earned USAC Ford Focus feature wins last Wednesday night at the Speedrome. Blackhurst led all 40 laps of the Midwest Ford Focus race and Prock lead all 25 laps of the Young Guns feature. Trailing Blackhurst and his Kitchen Cooked/Schroth Beast were Nick Drake, Kyle O’Gara, Joe Liguori and Tate Martz. Prock and his BMRS/Waterman Racing Beast were trailed by Max McGee, Brendon Bock, Ross Rankine and Clouse.


Cody Gerhardt of Madera, Calif. and Brandon White of Eureka, Calif. won the feature events Saturday night in the USAC Ford Focus program at the Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino, Calif. Gerhardt passed Cody Thompson on the 20th lap and led the rest of the way to win the 35-lap Western Ford Focus race over Garrett Peterson, fast qualifier Tim Skoglund, Cody Thompson and Bobby Runyan. White led all 20 laps to win the Young Guns feature over Austin Farley, Keegan Walmer, Thompson and fast qualifier Jarid Blondel.


Bobby Runyan of Denair, Calif. and Keegan Walmer of Portland, Ore. shared victory lane ceremonies at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway Bullring Thursday night, winning USAC Ford Focus feature events. Runyan took the 25-lap Western/Utah Ford Focus feature over Austin Farley, Eli Schrock, Cody Gerhardt and Wally Pankratz. Cody Thompson led the first 19 laps before becoming involved in a multi-car tangle, allowing Runyan to lead the last 11 laps. Walmer led the first five and last lap of the Young Guns feature to beat Thompson by 11 thousandths of a second! Farley was third, ahead of Brandon White and Jessica Clark. Walmer led the first five laps, then Thompson led 11. Farley led three before yielding to Walmer on the final circuit.


The 2010 Utah Ford Focus Series resumes action July 24 in Salt Lake City.