Sunday, 2 May 2010



The 2010 Utah Ford Focus Series continues this Saturday at Rocky Mountain Raceways in Salt Lake City, Utah. Bobby Runyan currently sits atop the standings, just a single point ahead of Eli Schrock as a result of races held so far which awarded points to multiple series championships.


Kipp Posey of Lehi, Utah won both the 2008 and 2009 championships and could be among favorites for victory Saturday at the Salt Lake City oval.


Garrett Peterson of West Sacramento, Calif. led the final 23 laps to win Saturday night’s 30-lap USAC Western Ford Focus race at Stockton (Calif.) 99 Speedway after passing Cody Gerhardt for the lead on lap eight. Gerhardt took second and was followed by Cody Thompson, Bobby Runyan and Courtney Atkinson. The next Western Ford Focus race is May 15 at All American Speedway in Roseville, Calif.


USAC Eastern Ford Focus point leader Scott Hunter of Concord, N.C. emerged from a green-white-checkered finish to win Saturday night’s 31-lap race at the Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway. Hunter trailed Bradley Riethmeyer on the restart but Riethmeyer lost an engine on the final lap and Hunter ended up in victory lane in his Brown & Miller Racing Solutions/Joe Gibbs Racing Oil Beast. Nick Drake took second ahead of Jeremy Frankoski, Justin Hommel and Tim Perry. The next Eastern Ford Focus outing is May 15 at the Dillon (S.C.) Motor Speedway.


Keegan Walmer of Portland, Ore. outlasted Courtney Atkinson to win Saturday night’s hotly-contested 25-lap USAC Western Young Guns feature at Stockton 99 Speedway. Walmer and his Ron Sutton’s Winners circle machine were trailed at the checkered flag by Atkinson, Cody Thompson and Brandon White. Atkinson and Walmer traded the lead back and forth six times before Walmer finally led the final five laps for the win. The Western Young Guns head for All American Speedway in Roseville, Calif. May 15.