Sunday, 14 June 2009



Nevada, Indiana, Illinois, Utah and North Carolina all host USAC Ford Focus races this week following USAC’s historic 500th Ford Focus race unfolded last Saturday.


Series point leaders entering this week’s competition are Nick Romano (California Pavement), Joe Liguori (Indiana and UMARA), Kipp Posey (Utah) and Jeremy Frankoski (Carolina).


Jeff Oleen of Bethesda, Md. passed USAC California Pavement Ford Focus point leader Romano on the 23rd lap and went on to win Saturday night’s 25-lap race at Madera (Calif.) Speedway. Romano trailed the winner’s Oleen Pinnacle/Best Buddies Maryland Kent to the flag and was followed by Garrett Peterson, Nick Carlson and fast qualifier Michael J. Lewis. Oleen cut Romano’s point lead to just three going into this Saturday night’s race at the Las Vegas (Nev.) Motor Speedway Bullring.


Tanner Whitten of Congerville, Ill. made his first USAC feature victory a memorable one Saturday night at Grundy County Speedway in Morris, Ill. Whitten led all 20 laps ton win the historic 500th USAC Ford Focus feature event, beating series point leader Joe Liguori, Tyler Cottongim, Tyler Trainor and Jimmy Simpson in the Midwest/UMARA event. The UMARA Ford Focus series continues this Saturday night at Grundy County Speedway.


Jimmy Simpson of Indianapolis, Ind. led all 30 laps to win Wednesday night’s USAC Midwest/UMARA Ford Focus feature at Plymouth Speedway. Simpson and his Fat Tommy’s Restaurant Beast were followed to the line by Jordan Pennington, series points leader Joe Liguori, Tyler Trainor and Adam Wilsdon. Liguori was the fastest qualifier. This Friday night’s Midwest race is at the Anderson (Ind.) Speedway.


Frankoski, who is undefeated in three previous USAC Carolina Ford Focus races this season, tries for number four Saturday night at Concord (N.C.) Motor Speedway.


Thursday night’s Midwest Ford Focus race at Twin Cities Raceway Park in North Vernon, Ind. was postponed by rain to August 14.