AMSOIL Sprints
Sunday, 12 May 2019


Fast Qualifier and Heat One winner C.J. Leary of Greenfield, Ind. Fast Qualifier and Heat One winner C.J. Leary of Greenfield, Ind. Rich Forman Photo


By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Rossburg, Ohio (May 11, 2019)………Saturday’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car #LetsRaceTwo event from Eldora Speedway was preempted by heavy rainfall following the completion of heat races.

A complete, new show for the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars, featuring qualifying, heats, a semi-feature and feature event, will be run on Wednesday night, July 17, at Eldora.  The NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws Sprint Cars will have a complete show that same night as well.

Fans and competitors who purchased through Eldora Speedway may use their tickets and wristbands as rainchecks for the rescheduled USAC and World of Outlaws doubleheader on Wednesday, July 17th or redeem for admission towards any other event at Eldora Speedway by September 1.  Those who purchased pit passes through TracPass can use them at any USAC National event during 2019 or get a refund.

C.J. Leary set the tone Saturday night, setting Fatheadz Eyewear Fast Qualifying time for the third consecutive series’ race.  He then captured the victory in the first heat, while Kevin Thomas, Jr., Chase Stockon and Robert Ballou followed with heat victories just before the skies let loose and heavy rain washed away the remainder of the program.

Qualifying points earned Saturday will count toward the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship standings due to it being a completed session.  Points for the heat races will not count toward the standings because a semi-feature wasn’t completed.

Contingency award winners Saturday night at Eldora Speedway were C.J. Leary (Fatheadz Eyewear Fast Qualifier & Simpson Race Products First Heat Winner), Kevin Thomas, Jr. (Competition Suspension, Inc. Second Heat Winner), Chase Stockon (AutoMeter Third Heat Winner), Robert Ballou (Indy Race Parts Fourth Heat Winner) and Matt Westfall (Roger & Barb Tapy 13th Fastest Qualifier).


USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: May 11, 2019 – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, Ohio – #LetsRaceTwo

FATHEADZ EYEWEAR QUALIFYING: 1. C.J. Leary, 19AZ, Reinbold/Underwood-15.546; 2. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 19, Hayward/Thomas-15.596; 3. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-15.708; 4. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-15.793; 5. Tyler Courtney, 7BC, CMNR-15.849; 6. Chris Windom, 5G, Goacher-15.908; 7. Jason McDougal, 71p, Daigh/Phillips-15.926; 8. Justin Grant, 4, TOPP-15.939; 9. Zane Hendricks, 27, Goodnight-15.996; 10. Carmen Perigo, 21p, Perigo-15.999; 11. Chad Boespflug, 98e, EZR-16.029; 12. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-16.037; 13. Matt Westfall, 33m, Marshall-16.195; 14. Isaac Chapple, 52, LNR/Chapple-16.257; 15. Brian VanMeveren, 24, VanMeveren-16.286; 16. Dustin Smith, 77s. Smith-16.424; 17. Timmy Buckwalter, 7, LNB-16.466; 18. Corey Smith, 66s, CS-16.481; 19. Bill Rose, 6, Rose-16.514; 20. Dallas Hewitt, 18, Keen-16.529; 21. Dustin Ingle, 2DI, Ingle-16.532; 22. Gage Etgen, 99, Etgen-16.570; 23. Michael Fischesser, 44, Fischesser-16.727; 24. Kory Crabtree, 60, Gagliardi-16.740; 25. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-16.742; 26. Mike Burkin, 79, Mahoney-16.778; 27. Cody Gardner, 9G, APPCO-16.851; 28. Justin Owen, 4J, Owen-16.961; 29. Brian Ruhlman, 49, Ruhlman-17.178; 30. Steve Little, 53, Little-17.287; 31. Brandon Moore, 7m, Moore-17.870; 32. Matt Cooley, 19c, Cooley-NT (Time of 17.244 Disallowed); 33. Luke Harbison, 40, Harbison-NT

SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (8 laps, top-4 transfer) 1. Leary, 2. Westfall, 3. Buckwalter, 4. Hendricks, 5. Ingle, 6. Goodnight, 7. Ruhlman, 8. Courtney. NT

COMPETITION SUSPENSION (CSI) SECOND HEAT: (8 laps, top-4 transfer) 1. Thomas, 2. Windom, 3. Perigo, 4. Chapple, 5. Etgen, 6. C. Smith, 7. Burkin, 8. Little. 2:17.73

AUTOMETER THIRD HEAT: (8 laps, top-4 transfer) 1. Stockon, 2. McDougal, 3. Boespflug, 4. VanMeveren, 5. Rose, 6. Fischesser, 7. Gardner, 8. Moore. NT

INDY RACE FOURTH HEAT: (8 laps, top-4 transfer) 1. Ballou, 2. Bacon, 3. Grant, 4. Hewitt, 5. Crabtree, 6. D. Smith, 7. Owen. 2:16.40



NEW USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Leary-378, 2-Thomas-366, 3-Courtney-335, 4-Stockon-327, 5-Bacon-319, 6-Grant-309, 7-Windom-309, 8-McDougal-270, 9-Carson Short-264, 10-Ballou-262.

NEXT USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACES: May 17-18, 2019 – Tri-City Speedway – Granite City, Illinois – “River Town Showdown”