Sunday, 11 July 2021


Winner Jacob Denney (Galloway, Ohio) Winner Jacob Denney (Galloway, Ohio) Brandon Murray Photo


By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Waverly, Ohio (July 10, 2021)………Reigning USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midget champion Jacob Denney led wire-to-wire to win Saturday night’s feature event at Atomic Speedway in Waverly, Ohio.

Denney (Galloway, Ohio) raced from his third starting spot to the lead on the opening circuit and led all 20 laps to score his second series victory of the season following a May triumph at U.S. 24 Speedway in Logansport, Ind.

Denney was followed to the line by new point leader Bryce Massingill (Troy, Ohio), Abby Hohlbein (Cloverdale, Ohio), Cory Guingrich (Celina, Ohio) and Chett Gehrke (Broken Arrow, Okla.).




USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET RACE RESULTS: July 10, 2021 – Atomic Speedway – Waverly, Ohio

FAST QUALIFIER: Jacob Denney, 11T, Taylor-15.476

FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Chett Gehrke (#93c Gehrke), 2. Taylor Nibert (#11L Taylor), 3. Josh Yenser (#12Y Yenser), 4. Carl Peterson (#49p Peterson), 5. Kyle Kriegbaum (#12 Kriegbaum), 6. Ryan Thomas (#1FR Wingo). NT

SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Bryce Massingill (#12m Massingill), 2. Cory Guingrich (#42 Guingrich), 3. Zack Gingerich (#8z Gingerich), 4. Gunnar Lucius (#22 Lucius), 5. Jody Paul (#5 Paul). NT

THIRD HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Abby Hohlbein (#11H Hohlbein), 2. Jacob Denney, 3. Ian Creager (#36 Creager), 4. Kayla Roell (#4K Martin), 5. Kyle Dager (#2 Briggs), 6. Bryce Dues (#23D Dues). NT

FEATURE: (20 laps) 1. Jacob Denney, 2. Bryce Massingill, 3. Abby Hohlbein, 4. Cory Guingrich, 5. Chett Gehrke, 6. Stratton Briggs, 7. Josh Yenser, 8. Gunnar Lucius, 9. Ian Creager, 10. Kayla Roell, 11. Carl Peterson, 12. Taylor Nibert, 13. Zack Gingerich, 14. Kyle Dager, 15. Jody Paul, 16. Kyle Kriegbaum, 17. Bryce Dues. NT

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-20 Jacob Denney.

USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET POINTS: 1-Bryce Massingill-317, 2-Stratton Briggs-308, 3-Jacob Denney-296, 4-Abby Hohlbein-274, 5-Ian Creager-272, 6-Zack Gingerich-212, 7-Josh Yenser-206, 8-Chett Gehrke-186, 9-Kyle Dager-168, 10-Ryan Thomas-150.

NEXT USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET RACE: July 17, 2021 – U.S. 24 Speedway – Logansport, Indiana