AMSOIL Sprints
Sunday, 29 August 2021


2021 Smackdown X ProSource Passing Master, Cole Bodine (Rossville, Ind.) 2021 Smackdown X ProSource Passing Master, Cole Bodine (Rossville, Ind.) DB3 Inc. Photo


By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Kokomo, Indiana (August 28, 2021)………Nobody passed more cars than Cole Bodine throughout the three events across and two full days of USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car racing action at Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway during Elliott’s Custom Carts & Trailers Smackdown X.

Despite an unfortunate and abrupt ending to his weekend due to a nasty front straightaway flip during a Saturday night qualifying race, Bodine’s grand total of 23 passes throughout Smackdown weekend earned the Rookie Sprint Car driver the ProSource Passing Master award for the event, which rewarded the driver who advanced the most total positions from their starting spots in all prelim and feature events throughout the entirety of the weekend.

All it took for Bodine was the first night to accomplish the feat, with the Rossville, Ind. making all 23 of his position advancements on Friday night where he passed four in the heat race, two in the C-Main, nine in the B-Main and eight in the feature during an impressive run through the alphabet from the C to the B to the A.

An unfortunate ending came on Saturday night as he was trying to race his way into the feature event, with him enduring a violent flip down the front straightaway.

“I appreciate all the calls and texts after last night’s wreck,” Bodine wrote in a post on his Facebook page.  “I’m very thankful for the best safety equipment around and it all did its job.  We will be out for a while considering the car is destroyed but hope to be back better than ever at some point.  I think we really have a good thing going for the amount of speed we had all week.”

Chase Stockon (Fort Branch, Ind.) and Steven Drevicki (Reading, Pa.) passed the second most amount of cars throughout Smackdown weekend with 20 apiece.  Max Adams (Loomis, Calif.) overtook 16 while Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Okla.) and Mario Clouser (Auburn, Ill.) each advanced 14.

Bodine is the second winner of the Smackdown ProSource Passing Master award.  Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) was crowned as the inaugural winner of the award in 2020.  This year, Windom finished with 10 passes throughout the weekend.





23-Cole Bodine

20-Chase Stockon & Steven Drevicki

16-Max Adams

14-Brady Bacon & Mario Clouser

12-Logan Seavey, Shane Cottle & Jason McDougal

11-Justin Grant, Emerson Axsom & Jadon Rogers

10-Chris Windom, Kyle Cummins, Jake Swanson & Brandon Long

9-Tye Mihocko

7-Kevin Thomas Jr., C.J. Leary & Chase Johnson

6-Tanner Thorson, Stevie Sussex & Ted Kirkpatrick

5-Matt Westfall, Alex Bright, Ryan Barr & Jack James

4-Brandon Mattox, Max Guilford & David Hair

3-Brent Beauchamp, Brayden Clark & Anthony D'Alessio

2-Thomas Meseraull, Koby Barksdale, Parker Frederickson & Ryan Thomas

1-Robert Ballou, Sterling Cling, Andrew Prather & Zack Pretorius

0-Alex Banales, Braydon Cromwell, Danny Faria Jr., Matt Goodnight, Tyler Hewitt, Eddie Tafoya Jr. & Scotty Weir